IPL time again!


Once again it’s that time of the year. It’s time for the Indian Premier League, which is surely the largest money making scheme in the world. Two keywords lead to the huge profits of this venture: India, Cricket. There are a potential 1 billion Indian viewers of the IPL, so there is a great advertising potential on television and at the matches. IPL also happens to be a twenty-20 cricket tournament involving top cricketers from around the world, so that gives a gigantic viewership from other countries. The perfect money making formula. I guess I’m glad to be a tiny part of this formula.


The first match between the Kolkata Knight Riders and Deccan Chargers is under way, and it looks as if the Deccans will win. I usually don’t pay much attention to the teams and the tournament. I simply support whoever is batting when I turn on the TV, and it works well enough for me. Last year I actually watched the entire final match, and a little bit of the messed up Akon show afterwards.
I am not much of a cricket fan, as you probably realised by now, but I do support the Sri Lankan team and watch most of their matches. But this system is invalidated when the Sri Lankan cricketers are split over several teams named after Indian cities. At the moment I am supporting the Knight Riders, as they were batting when I tuned in, and also as Angelo Mathews pretty much saved the team from a disasterous loss. Thanks to my fave cricketer Mathews, the Knight Riders will probably lose with more dignity now.

Anyway, I will be tuning in to the IPL whenever I can. Fortunately the timing of the IPL matches the time at which I finish studying for the day.

One response to “IPL time again!

Leave a Reply

